5 Apple features that are on my wishlist

Throwing it out there

Chris Yoong
2 min readSep 28, 2023

With Titanium and x5 zoom being some of the standout features for ’23, below are the software and hardware changes that are on my wishlist.

1. Guest photo mode

Picture the scene, you want to take a group photo. You hand your phone to a random person nearby to take a picture. However, you’ve just realised FaceID might have unlocked the phone as you’ve given it to them.

Anxiety-inducing experience is not needed.

You could disable FaceID by bringing up the switch-off screen, however this isn’t ideal. A simple feature to enable a guest photo mode, would be ace.

2. Watch faces that actually have hour and minute marks

Apple Watch Series 9 in red watchface: the Palette face. It does not have hour and minute marks

This is technically an accessibility request. A surprising number of the Apple Watch faces, the hour and minute marks don’t actually exist. You have to infer the time from the location. I’d really like a setting that adds hour & minute marks to all the faces. Also, not just lines, numbers. I can change all the colours, add all the complications but can’t add hour and minute marks.

When I’m half asleep my cogntive function is temporarily impaired. What time is it? No idea, I’m trying to read this face to work out if it’s actually 10 to 7 or 10 to 8.

3. Circular Apple Watch

Maybe controversial but I find the rectangle design really unpleasant. Watches should be round, orbits are circular, sundials are usually round. I’m really hoping for a beautiful circular Apple Watch.

When it launched I thought the rectangle was a satire before the actual reveal. Fast forward 8 years and it’s still a rectangle, keep hoping for a redesign to make it round. It’s one of these hills I would die on. 😁

4. Privacy within apps

The privacy app report tells me all about the Apps that are tracking me in all kinds of creepy ways but I have no tools to do anything about it.

None. Nadda. Help here please.

5. Remove adverts within paid for services

Why on earth am I seeing adverts in the paid-for News App? In Magazines? In the App Store? I know this infinite growth on a finite planet is a real pressure but please, remove these adverts.

--

--